Seven soldiers martyred in IED Blast in Lakki Marwat: ISPR

RAWALPINDI: An improvised explosive device (IED) detonated on a vehicle of the Security Forces in Lakki Marwat District on Sunday, resulting in the martyrdom of seven soldiers, the military’s media wing said in a statement.

According to the Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR), the fallen include Captain Muhammad Faraz Ilyas, 26, from Kasur District; Subedar Major Muhammad Nazir, 50, from Skardu District; Lance Naik Muhammad Anwar, 34, from Ghanchi District; Lance Naik Hussain Ali, 36, from Ghizer District; Sepoy Asad Ullah, 33, from Multan District; Sepoy Manzoor Hussain, 27, from Gilgit District; and Sepoy Rashid Mehmood, 31, from Rawalpindi District.

“Sanitisation of the area is being carried out to eliminate any terrorists present in the area, and perpetrators of this heinous act will be brought to justice,” the ISPR statement said.