Aseefa Bhutto-Zardari elected uncontested on NA-207 seat

NAWABSHAH: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has notified Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate Aseefa Bhutto-Zardari’s victory on NA-207 Shaheed Benazirabad (former Nawabshah) 1 seat which was vacated by her father, Asif Ali Zardari, who became the president of Pakistan on March 9.

Aseefa entered parliamentary politics after becoming a Member of the National Assembly (MNA) for the first time.

According to the top electoral body, 11 candidates, including Aseefa, had filed their nomination papers to contest the by-poll on the aforementioned seat vacated by Zardari who became president of Pakistan after being jointly nominated by the ruling coalition. Three candidates withdrew their nomination papers, whereas, seven nominations were rejected, as per the ECP.